Tuesday, May 22, 2007

Shavuos Yahrzeits

The first day of Shavuos is the yahrzeit of:

Dovid HaMelech, Dovid ben Yishai Avdicha Mishichecha

The Baal Shem Tov (1698-1760). Born in the Hebrew year "NaChaS, 5458, on Chai Elul. There is a difference of opinion whether the yahrzeit is the first or second day of Shevuos. I heard that there are certain descendants of the Baal Shem Tov that have a kabala that it is the second day and there is ssupposed to be a story behind it. I am trying to find out more information on this. If anyone has any knowledge of this please let me know. Thank You.

There is a connection between Dovid HaMelech and the Baal Shem Tov, as the Baal Shem Tov descends from Dovid HaMelech. When the Baal Shem Tov’s name is written, it is often written as הבעש״ט. This is because the gematria of הבעש״ט is exactly the same as דוד בן ישי.

The Imrei Emes of Ger, R’ Avrohom Mordechai Alter (1866-1948). He was the son of Reb Yehudah Leib, the Sfas Emes. Under his leadership, the Gerrer Chassidim grew to number over 100,000. A large portion of them were killed by the Nazis, yimach shemom. The Imrei Emes escaped and rebuilt the Gerrer Chassidus.

R' Avrohom Azriel, Mekubal of Yeshiva Beis El

R' Yehuda Rosner(1944), Imrei Yehuda

The second day of Shavuos is the yahrzeit of:

Hoshea ben Be'eri, Navi

Avrohom ben Avrohom , the famous Ger Tzedek of Vilna, originally the son of Count Pototski. His family was a well respected family, but he decided to become a Jew. He was from the same family of Sofia, after whom Sofia Park in Uman is named. He was killed for refusing to give up his newfound religion. The Vilna Gaon offered to save him through the use of Kabbala, but the Ger Tzedek refused. He said he wanted to give his life up “al kiddush Hashem”. He also said that the souls of converts were those individuals that wanted to accept the Torah, but weren’t able to because the rest of their nation didn’t want to accept it.

R' Zelig Reuvein ben R' Tzvi Hirsch Bengis (1864-1953) Av Beis Din in Yerushalaim

R' Shmuel Ehrenfeld of Mattesdorf (1990)

No comments: